Date Balls


Not THOSE dates, Amelia Bedelia!

Screen shot 2013-12-21 at 2.34.23 PM

We’re talking about these dates…

DatesBI love dates, even just by themselves. Probably because they are full of sugar. I like sugar =) 

I also love to put dates in these date balls. I make huge batches of them and keep them in the freezer for those days I want dessert but don’t want to go as far as cookies and ice cream. Dates also have lots of health benefits so (in moderation) you can feel pretty good about eating these.

For these recipes I get the dates packed in a brick with no seeds… well, mostly no seeds, there is usually one or two left in there so I pinch through it before putting it in the food processor. If you don’t have access to dates like that, I’ve heard SunMaid sells nice chewy dates and you can get those in any grocery store.

If you have ever had a Lara Bar you might notice similarities in the ingredients. Even with these recipes, you could form them into bars and wrap them individually for on the go. Here are your main ingredients:

7Br7qTfZXpW2UwEVrjqXhNNMEJE9lNZDxsTDXxcXfug

Each recipe has dates as the base (thus the name =) with nuts or coconut and extras added in to make each one unique. Once you have assembled your desired ingredients, all you need to do is blend it all in a food processor starting with the nuts, then the dates, then the extras until it looks something like this:

eexaEhA01gVGJVqAqEUAEsM57HkrjebTsQybni6QShQ

I like to set it aside as I make it batch by batch so I can do all the chopping first then all the rolling second (this way I can sit down and watch some TV while I roll =)

Here’s my array of pre-rolled date mixes

kPDlSoFYKYVZuqApjBEta84ssgsZ6O8qNGrXYf0BDg0

(the one in the bottom right corner actually doesn’t have dates – they are more like raw macaroons. I’ll share that recipe with you later)

Then I just grab handfuls at a time and squish it into balls or bars. I like to store in freezer so they last forever but you don’t need to if you are eating them right away. I think they would last a long time in the fridge too… depends on what temperature you like to eat them at.

Sn_CAvCDqmqO7JDrCwKtPwMbPqgWPabZH3nTx9fhj-s

Here are some of my favorite recipes. The possibilities for add-ins are endless though, so be creative!

Enjoy!

Thin Mint Date Balls
1 cup packed dates
1 cup walnuts
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 tsp vanilla
2 drops of pure peppermint extract (omit for plain fudge date balls)
pinch of sea salt

vdUDtg4FeWpIMtKJy3i4pdEwAGmMUOOMNnMv5sBvnSc

Samoa Date Balls
1 cup packed dates
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup almonds
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup cacao nibs or chocolate chips
pinch of sea salt

-8kolKD7YaUDCt4EFGL714u_4mIBd6l63qWoMHsPvnE

Cookie Dough Date Balls
1 cup packed dates
1 cup cashews
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup chocolate chips
pinch of sea salt

axHqk-rdnnqHQjzkw3oC2MFE3AdNuRT7iEYeuehwjMw

Gingerbread Date Balls
1 cup packed dates
1 cup nuts
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
pinch of sea salt

Peanut Butter Date Balls
1 cup roasted peanuts
1 cup packed dates
1 cup coconut
1 tsp vanilla
pinch of sea salt

jDmgq8I2QZkNKtAURVCnFSp3dpfQBkZAne33L9RAZM0Oh, and Merry Christmas!!!

 

One thought on “Date Balls

Leave a Reply

