Coconut Oil Chocolate Bark

Coconut oil has a plethora of benefits… for the skin, hair, body and growing baby. When it showed up on my list of things to eat while pregnant, I thought ‘no problem, I love the stuff and cook almost everything in it’ but soon realized that I wasn’t getting even close to the recommended 1/4 cup per day. That realization plus my growing craving for sweets and chocolate led me to this recipe. Coconut oil chocolate!

Chocolate bark

I always start out with a tray like the one in the photo below… as long as it has edges you are ok. Line it with plastic wrap and sprinkle on your mix-ins.

IMG_0873

I like to use coconut flakes, but you could do any number of things: chopped nuts, seeds, berries, raisins, bananas, whatever floats your boat!

I recently found some new ones – chopped dates and candied ginger! The dates make it sweet, no need to add sugar, and the ginger pairs so nicely with chocolate.

Then, in a bowl I mix up the coconut oil and cacao powder. I love to add in vanilla and peppermint extract, makes it so tasty.

IMG_0875

Then I spoon the mix over the tray and make sure it’s all covered. I usually use coconut sugar as a sweetener, so I sprinkle it on at this point, along with a little sea salt – really brings out the chocolate flavor!

IMG_0877

Then I carefully put the tray in the freezer, let sit for an hour or so, pull it out, break it up and enjoy!

You’ve got to store it in the freezer – lest it soften or melt – but can eat it straight from there. I pull out a chunk any time I need a little pick-me-up (usually 3-5 times a day =)

IMG_0878

Coconut Oil Chocolate Bark

1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
1/4 cup cacao powder (I love this stuff)
1 tsp sweetener (honey, date syrup, maple syrup, molasses, coconut sugar, brown sugar)
1/4t vanilla
sprinkle of sea salt

Possible Add-Ins:

coconut flakes
chopped nuts
berries
dried fruit
chopped dates
candied ginger
a few drops of peppermint extract
– the sky is the limit here, let me know if you find something amazing!

How To:

1. Prepare tray with plastic wrap. Cover with desired mix-ins.

2. Pour coconut oil into a bowl, mix in cacao powder, vanilla and sweetener (if liquid)

3. Pour coconut oil mixture over tray, make sure everything is covered and mixed in evenly. Sprinkle with granulated sweetener (if using) and sea salt.

4. Place in freezer for at least 30 minutes.

5. Remove and break into pieces, store in freezer.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

