Pad Khing (Thai Ginger Chicken)

There were a lot of things I took for granted when we lived in Thailand and one of those was the food. I would always try things, often regretting it once I found out what I had eaten. But there were few things that really stood out to me. One dish I thoroughly enjoyed though and would order whenever I had the chance was this one. The mushrooms, the ginger… it is such a unique and tasty dish it quickly became one of my favorites.

pad khing

Leaving Thailand and the amazing Thai markets made me think I would never be able to have it again. Where would I ever find these mushrooms and how could I possibly chop ginger as small and precise as they do?

Well, believe it or not, right here in Iraq, I was able to find these wonderful black frilly mushrooms! There is a small population of Chinese people here and they run a number of restaurants and import shops. I was stocking up on sesame oil and soy sauce one day when I noticed a little baggie of some sort of shriveled up, dry mushroom.

Little Dried Mushrooms

I had no idea what to expect and was bowled over with surprise and excitement when I added water and they turned into my most favorite kind of mushroom in the world!

Piggy Mushrooms!

Well I immediately got some ginger and some chicken so I could create the greatest mushroom dish there is. Pad khing.

Here is how it goes:

First, get the ingredients together. Chop the onion and garlic, soften the mushrooms (or buy them fresh if you have access), and chop the ginger impossibly thin.

Go with the grain, slivers at a time then turn them all and cut them into julianne.

Chop Chop Chop!

I love ginger so I add a lot, but it can be strong, so know your audience.

Saute onions and garlic in oil. when they are soft add the ginger (cooking it will help tone it down a bit)

Onions and Garlic

Then add the chicken. I had some already cooked and shredded (I had roasted it before and made the dish really delicious) But if you have chopped raw chicken, just give it time to cook up with the veggies. Once the chicken is cooked, add the mushrooms and sauce.
In the pan

Once it is all stirred together and thoroughly cooked, it is ready to serve! Traditionally over rice, or substitute cauliflower rice or just eat it straight up!
pad khing

Pad Khing Gai (Fried Ginger with Chicken)

2 Tb coconut oil
1 large onion sliced
4 cloves garlic chopped
1.5 cups chicken cut into bite sized pieces or pre-cooked and shredded
1/4-1/2 cup chopped ginger (depending on how much you like it)
2 cups rehydrated or fresh pig ear mushrooms

 

for the sauce:

2 Tb oyster sauce
2 Tb soy sauce
2 Tb fish sauce
1 pinch sugar

 

How To:

1. Heat oil in large skillet or wok. Add onion and garlic, cook until soft. Add in ginger, cook another 3-5 minutes

2. Add chicken, if raw, cook through.

3. Stir in mushrooms, sauces and sugar.

4. Serve over your favorite rice.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

