Breakfast Sausage Beef

Here is another one for my ground beef collection, especially for my friends in the middle east. A friend gave me the idea for this and I love it. As you may know, we don’t have access to much breakfast meat – as all the good stuff comes from pigs – so we’ve got to get a little more creative.

The first time I did this, I used a breakfast sausage seasoning mix (your easy way out if you have access), but as it was full of sugar, I was eager to try to mix my own.

I used a some herbs for flavor: thyme and sage. Then something for sweet: coriander, nutmeg and cloves. And something for spicy: paprika and cayenne. Yum!

Spices

If you don’t have all of these on hand, you could experiment with what you have. Also, if you want it to be a little sweeter and don’t mind the extra sugar, go ahead and add it in instead of the coriander.

I just mix it all together with the beef and brown it on the stove. Sometimes I like to add chopped onions and garlic for extra flavor.

Autumn.2012.Sulaymaniyah.Iraq_31Another option is forming the meat into little patties and cooking them that way. Or you can freeze the raw patties to be taken out and thawed another day. 
Autumn.2012.Sulaymaniyah.Iraq_37

I like to make extra then store it in the fridge to be added to eggs or greens each morning. Autumn.2012.Sulaymaniyah.Iraq_41

Ground Beef Breakfast Sausage

1 lb ground beef
1 onion (optional)
2 cloves garlic (optional)

1 tsp sage
1 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp coriander (or omit for 2 tsp sugar or other sweetener)
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp cayenne (depending on how spicy you like it)

Salt and pepper to taste

How To:

1. Mix spices together with the meat

2. Brown in large pan with onion and garlic or form into patties to be frozen or cooked right away.

Enjoy!

Here it is stirred up with some sauteed onions, greens and quinoa.

Autumn.2012.Sulaymaniyah.Iraq_42

And my very favorite way to eat it… with sauteed greens and topped with a fried egg!

Autumn.2012.Sulaymaniyah.Iraq_46

Breakfast of champions.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

