Pakistani Kima

We’ve been away from home for awhile, sorry for the severe lack of posts. We most recently returned from the south where we ate from the same restaurant for two weeks straight. It was nice to have meat at every meal and to have it prepared for me, but I am glad to be back in my own kitchen with spices ranging beyond tikka and briyani.

I was pretty lucky to find a chunk of ground beef in the freezer and a truck came by with all the vegetables I needed so I didn’t even have to go out to get anything. I decided to make a dish that one of my friends showed me, inspired by the spices of Pakistan.

I am trying to build up my ground beef recipe repertoire because it is the easiest, most consistent way to buy red meat here. So here we go…

I’ve heard some people call this dish ‘hamburger curry’ and it sort of is. It is ground beef, vegetables and spices. This time I used eggplant and pumpkin, but it is also great with green beans, potatoes, peas, carrots, or whatever you like.

Pakistani Kima
2 T oil or butter
2 med onion chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced

1 kilo ground beef (about 2 lbs)

2 T curry powder
1 T turmeric
2 t cinnamon
1 t ginger
1 t cayenne (depending on how much heat you like)
2 t sea salt
1 t ground pepper

4 cups chopped tomatoes (2 cans or 6 med ripe tomatoes)
3 cups diced winter squash or potatoes
3 cups green beans or sliced eggplant or peas

1. Melt oil or butter in large pan, saute onion, add garlic after about 5 minutes, cook another few minutes
2. Add meat and cook through
3. Add spices and stir well
4. Add tomatoes, squash, and your choice of vegetable bring to a boil then simmer until vegetables are done (about 25 minutes)

Serve over rice (cauliflower rice is great here) and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

